cropped-img_6380.jpgThis is the website of Martin Shaw, Independent East Devon Alliance councillor for the Seaton & Colyton division on Devon County Council, and Chair of the East Devon Alliance. All posts are in a personal capacity unless otherwise stated.

Seaton and Colyton   The division also includes Beer, Branscombe, Colyford, Farway, Northleigh, Offwell, Southleigh and Wilmington.

I was elected on 4th May 2017, when the result was:

Martin Shaw (Independent East Devon Alliance) 1826 (38%)
Helen Parr (Conservative) 1784 (37.1%)
Peter Burrows (Liberal Democrat) 524 (10.9%)
Jim Knight (Independent) 441 (9.2%)
Ian Martin (Labour) 222 (4.6%)

My background I am married with four children and two grandchildren, and moved to Seaton when I retired as a professor of international relations and my wife from NHS cancer care in Sussex. In 2015 I polled over 1000 votes as an Independent East Devon Alliance candidate for EDDC. I joined Seaton Town Council (of which I remain a member) and helped develop its Seafront Enhancement Scheme. As Chair of Seaton’s Planning Committee, I have worked with local residents to protect the green wedge between Seaton and Colyford. I have taken a leading role in defending the beds in Seaton Hospital and will work for the County Council to exercise greater scrutiny over the deepening crisis in Devon’s NHS. My children were all state-educated and I will strongly support local schools.

My key messages when I was elected

  • We need a councillor who will listen to voters and is genuinely independent of national political parties.
  • Vital changes are taking place at County level – I will report back regularly to local people and listen to your views.
  • I will fight to maintain adequate funding for County services – including social care, schools, youth services, libraries, roads and pavements. I will fight to keep Seaton and Honiton Hospitals & protect the NHS in Devon.
  • I will work hard for the whole division, not just Seaton.


We are a wealthy county with beautiful surroundings, but we are told we can’t afford adequate services for the people of Devon. The Government is slashing Councils’ funding so that they can’t do their job properly, and then forcing them to impose excessive council tax rises. We need to get out of this Catch 22 situation.

Social care is near collapsing and putting huge pressure on the health service. The NHS, in turn, is cutting our community hospital beds without having reliable home care in place. Our views are being ignored and they will not be listened to as long as we dutifully return Conservative councillors.

At the same time, big changes are happening which will make local government even less local and even less democratic. Big plans like the Greater Exeter Strategic Partnership and the Heart of the South West devolution bid have been developed without involving the electorate, and with minimal involvement of councillors.

My priorities are to inform local people honestly of the seriousness of the situation, and to bring our communities together to protect our services and our democracy.

Feedback I’d love to hear what you think – do comment on the posts, share them on Facebook, email cllrmartinshaw@gmail.com or phone 07972 760254.

This website is promoted by County Councillor Martin Shaw, Lynwood, Old Beer Road, Seaton EX12 2PX.